Vintage

 

Ever since I was a little kid, I’ve found myself fascinated by old things. Books, cars, music, pictures, if it was old, I liked it. I guess it had to do with the fact that I’ve always appreciated bygone eras and I guess this ties into my in-depth studies of history. Maybe it also has to do with the fact that I hear people before me talk about “the good ol’ days”. One of my friend’s uncles said that when he was younger, he could work a part time job and pay for housing + college tuition. Can’t say that today.

Often times, I think I was born into the wrong decade. I can’t stand a lot of things that are in the world today and living for only 20 years, I can only say that things seem to get worse as time goes on. 10 years ago, things seemed less fast, less complicated, less irritating… The 21st century seems to have brought with it a mess of trouble. Then again, I was only 10, so what did I know.

Things weren’t always fluffy clouds and skyscrapers back then. There was a lot wrong with the world, but there seems to be a lot more wrong now. One of the main gripes I have with 21st century humanity is that we as a culture don’t value much. There’s so much disposable junk floating around it makes my head spin every time I ponder it. Its hard to find anything that’s not made in China or some other Southeast Asian country. Things back then were built to last and they were made primarily in the U.S. Things now are built to break as soon as you touch them and they are mass-produced in China. Coincidence? I think not.

I’m no Luddite. I appreciate some facets of technology and the 21st century, but I believe that it’s just done so much more harm than good. One thing I can’t stand is the digitization of music. I would have loved to live back in the 1970s and rush out to the record store to buy a new vinyl by my favorite artist and come home and play it on my record player. Now, we can just push “download” from the iTunes store (or even worse a Torrent site) and then listen to it in bits and pieces. There’s a huge disconnect between the listening experience and the value of music. Music, one of the fundamental products of humanity – reduced to a disposable commodity… Disgusting.

Old things tend to cost a lot of money because they are rare but maybe one day I will have the disposable income to live out the era I never had a chance to live in.

 

 

– Scotia

One comment on “Vintage

  1. addielicious says:

    Funny but the first thing that comes to mind when I hear China is ‘imitation’. Am I bad? I used to be so scared of anything old, they just have this ghostly feel to it. Gives me the shivers. Also explains why I don’t usually prefer watching period movies. But there’s a local spot near my apartment that has lots of vintage stores and the stuff are really amazing. I don’t buy vintage but at least I’m less scared of them.

Leave a Reply

